I got a message from Albert Schweitzer today.

It read: Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success.

Albert’s words of wisdom, triggered a memory from Act 1 of my life . . . me at age 10.

It was summertime; and the McCreight family along with my grandmother took a family vacation, driving from Illinois to the Pacific Northwest.

I learned that summer there’s a lot of land between the Mississippi River and the Pacific Ocean.

We traveled primarily Route 6, crossing the states of Iowa, Nebraska, and Wyoming before visiting my mother’s cousin and her family who lived in Ogden, Utah.

Traveling across Nebraska, I asked my dad more than once, “Are we there yet?”

My dad would laugh and say, “Sit back and enjoy the ride.”

And so . . .

I learned to sit back and enjoy the ride.

I looked out the car window, taking in the land, the towns, and the people, noting how differently they looked from my mid-western home town, East Moline, Illinois.

I liked to sit in the backseat, letting my imagination soar, playing a What if game . . .

What if I lived here? What would my life be like?

The game kept me entertained.

I loved the family vacations and the road trips that we took. They enabled me to expand my inner and outer horizons and practice tuning-in to the discovering-life-now channel.

Now in Act 3 of my life,  I still delight in the road-trip experience, be that a cross-country or a cross-town journey.

The joy of my heart is fueled by driving the open road and making discoveries about me and life now.

And so, Albert Schweitzer . . .

I thank you for your words of wisdom and the reminder.

Yes, the journey of life is a happy and successful one, when I choose to sit in the driver’s seat of my life, empowered by my heart’s joy.

Loving you,

Robert, aka Bob

