Hello 8/31/10,

Yes, I’ve decided to write a message to you. I’m so glad that you are here. I wonder how many other people are letting you know how grateful they are for your presence in their lives.

I loved greeting you this morning at Barton Springs Pool.

When I arrived at Zilker Park, I was greeted by others who like me were responding to your early morning call to active duty.

I must admit I love swimming in Barton Springs during the early morning hours. There’s something quite magical about it.

As I enter the pool a step at a time, I’m greeted by the cool, invigorating spring-fed water. It has a way of awakening me from the very tips of my toes to the top of my head. It’s a very special kind of awakening.

Today, 8/31/10, I felt your magic pulsating through my heart with each swimming stroke I took.

Magic . . . yes!

I breathed your magic into my lungs.

I breathed your magic into my heart, circulating your magic through my whole being.

Yes, just an ordinary day you appear to be; yet, in that ordinariness, I am discovering the magic in living.

Through the years, I’ve been known by family, friends, co-workers, and neighbors by a variety of names . . . Bobby, Bobby Bill, Bob, Robert, Robbie, Rob, Uncle Bob.

Within all of these names, I recognize a simple truth.

I am just an ordinary Bob, a simple man, living an ordinary life.

And day by day, I’m simply showing up in life.

And so Tuesday, 8/31/10, I’m letting you know how glad I am that you are here and, just like you are here for me, I am here for you, reporting for active duty in living, learning, and most importantly loving you and me and our ordinariness.

Loving you,

Robert, aka Bob

